A Beautiful Mind:Embracing the Dark Side FB page

Mental Disorders. We’ve all heard of them. We’ve all heard the stigma. We’ve all felt the judgment, pain, looks of disdain. We’ve felt guilt. Judged ourselves Hated ourselves. Wished we were someone else. Hated our dark side. But what if we didn’t?…
Description
Mental Disorders. We’ve all heard of them. We’ve all heard the stigma. We’ve all felt the judgment. The pain. The looks of disdain. We’ve felt guilt. We’ve judged ourselves. Hated ourselves. Wished we were someone else. Hated our dark side. But what if we didn’t?…
What if we embraced the beauty in our dark side? Changed the stigma. In others. In ourselves. That dark shadow we hate so much.That very dark shadow we feel that follows us everywhere is part of our beauty, our wholeness, our humanness. Practicing love and acceptance for this part that feels vulnerable, depressed, “needy”, jealous, or fearful can be healing. It’s time we develop a gentle compassionate presence for this shadow side we hate so much and empower ourselves; Embrace the existence of our dark side without judgement! It’s a vital and wonderful part of our inert creativity, something to celebrate and cultivate, not something to run from or be ashamed of.There are infinite things with which we can content ourselves. Beauty is all around. Take a stained glass window, for example. It is no less beautiful in darkness than it appears in light – some would even argue that the absence of light enhances its beauty.Some may call us crazy, wild, having reckless ideas, but some of the best artists, writers, actors/actresses, even football players have mental disorders and are the most creative and unique. I don’t call us crazy. I call us unique and I’d so rather be this way than the so~called “normal.” Where’s the fun in that?!

You’re probably wondering what made me start this page. Don’t get me wrong. I definitely have my downs and rainy days. We all do, but I also feel there is a beautiful side to what we all deal with. I feel there is a beauty in our darkness. There is creativity, deeper emotions we feel, love, sadness, ups, downs, in betweens. We are strong. Strong as hell. We fight battles everyday people will never understand. When I’ve needed strength at times though, I usually only see only pages mostly about the lower side of our fight, and sometimes we need to embrace the beauty. We need to see the light in the dark. So I created this page. Not only for support through our darkness, but to embrace it.

I battle many, many disorders on a daily basis from Borderline Personality Disorder, Bipolar Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, Panic Disorder, PTSD, Major Depressive Disorder, and so on, on top of many medical disorders and chronic pain disorders. Everyday is war. It’s a battle within myself, my body, and my mind. I’m not giving in. Believe me, I have my days I want to give in, and give up. I’ve cut. I wanted to kill myself. I have my dark side too. But I will persevere. And I want you all to, too. That is why I’m here. To inspire. To offer love. Support. Understanding. To remind you all that there IS beauty in our dark sides. To NEVER give up!

Remember: everything has an opposite. Balance is key. The light cannot exist without darkness, the good cannot survive without evil.

You are NEVER alone!

Leave a Reply

