Mental illness, Shame and Stigma by Average Princess

Mental illness, Shame and Stigma

apr

I read this article and have been pondering it all day. The article was titled ‘Mental illness: Extend compassion, not judgment’. It was written by Margie Warrell. She talked about her brothers struggle with paranoid schizophrenia. As someone with Bipolar who can get paranoid and psychotic, I understood where he was coming from. I felt like I was living a never ending nightmare and attempted suicide but I thought that if I had ended it like that, that no one would ever love me again. It’s horrible I know. So I got help instead, even when it was hard and I wanted it to end. The pain was so much that all I could do was cry and even then it didn’t relieve the pain I was feeling. I’m feeling better now after a year of hard work.

I’m still struggling with it though, because even though I’m stable, there is all this negative stigma towards mental illness. People just don’t know or understand. Sometimes they don’t want to know. Growing up when I heard about suicide I never thought I would have come face to face with it but I did and I survived.

I’m not going to be ashamed of having a serious mental illness anymore and I’m not going to be ashamed of being on medications either! I believe modern medicine was inspired of God and without mine I would be suicidal from my mood swings. hypomanic and Manic depression/Mixed episodes with Paranoia and Psychosis. So maybe I’ll never be who I used to be or who I dreamed of becoming. But I know one thing, my health challenges have made me want to fight harder- and another thing, I did not suddenly become worthless when I got sick a few years ago or when I was diagnosed a year ago. No, I have always been more precious than rubies. Worth more than Gold. Of Infinite worth. Since before I was even born!! 🙂 To think I fight feeling ashamed and worthless everyday because of the stigma.

Mental illness is not something to be ashamed of and it does not take away from our worth as children of God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

