Featured Advocate: Mariah from A Room without Walls 4/3

Image

ImageMariah Middleton-Rackliff -I am an advocate for Mental Health because I am a person with bipolar I disorder, among some other diagnosis. I have an 18 year old daughter with Asperger’s and dysthymia, and my son, at eight, is on the spectrum. I have spent most of my life working with children to help them access the services they and their family needs. I became unable to work a little over two years ago, and have since been offering my help to families who struggle to get the services they need. I have recently been helping families with college applications, financial aid, and vocational rehab.
I recently published my first novel, a memoir, “A Room Without Walls.” I am hoping to reach others with mental illness so they are able to relate and are reassured that they are not alone in their struggles. Writing this was a healing journey for me, and I hope that others find it therapeutic while reading it.
My life has been spent fighting for those who need it most. I also strongly advocate to reduce the stigma, because we are people first, not our illnesses.

A Room without Walls: Author Mariah Middleton-Rackliff

I am the author of the recently published memoir, “A Room Without Walls.”
Image

I am a new author, although I’ve been writing since I was 13 years old. I have recently decided to publish my memoir, “A Room without Walls.” I have two other books in the works, and a book of poetry that I hope to co-author with my very talented niece. I am a full-time student at Southern New Hampshire University, where I am working towards my Master’s Degree in English Literature/Creative Writing. Writing is therapeutic for me and has proved time and time again to be an useful tool to keep myself somewhat sane.

Leave a comment