Featured Advocate: Julie from Self Harm_A Silent Cry 4/4/14

ImageJulie: I became an advocate of mental illness because it  was something for me to get things out instead of hurting myself.

I never knew what I was doing had a name. I started hurting myself at a very young age. When I was about 8 or 9, I used to burn plastic or candles on my legs and hands cause of the things that was going in my home and I had no one to talk to. I stopped cause my mom said that was for crazy people.

I stopped the self hurting and started bottling them in and when it was too much i would just bite my lips and scream in my head or just blast the music. I didn’t cut until 2006. This  was my first deep cut that sent me to the hospital and mental ward for 5 days.  I was then diagnosed  with PTSD /Deep Depression/ Anxiety ADHD and not too long ago BPD.

When they told me what i was doing had a name it is Deliberate Self Harm (DSH) and I had it I was surprised and started researching  it but right now I’ve been clean for a while. I don’t cut right now. You can’t say never, but now i scratch my arms till they are red and then i put them under hot boiling water.

I have gone through a lot. I always thought I was alone so I started my page to get my story out and what I found was others just like me. There was  no judgement. There was just love and people  needing help.  This is when I started helping people instead of focusing on me.

I help others to deal with their demons. I stared my page and  one of my online friends added me to her group when I was in too deep and didn’t know what to do. She took time to me help me and because of her my page was born. After a few months of having my page, I lost her to a car accident. Now the group is broken and she is no longer with us, but because of her and her belief in my page and despite our ups and downs, a year later the page is strong.

Self Harm_A Silent Cry

Image

Is a cry that is always ignored,
But no more it’s real and we need to educate those that don’t understand.
Is not an attention seeker is part of us…
Description
Education and self awareness are the best
way to help and know when a friend or family member
is crying for help… DON”T JUDGE!
Facebook Page ID 120611691458644Education y advertencia son las mejores
formas de ayudar y aprender cuando un amigo o familiar
estan llorando por ayuda…NO JUSGES!
Facebook Page ID 120611691458644
(note)
Any inbox private messages you send me: NEVER will your confidential information ever be shared. It is my policy to not disclose your information to others!***
PLEASE NOTE: I am NOT a professional OF ANY KIND, and WILL NOT give out ANY type or form of medical advice WHAT-SO-EVER!
***If you are suicidal or are thinking of hurting yourself, please either call 911, or the Suicide Hotline 1-800-273-TALK (8255) and here’s the link
http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ you’ll be connected to a skilled, trained counselor at a crisis center in your area, anytime 24/7. Once again, I am NOT a professional OF ANY KIND, please consult a licensed professional
Leave a Reply

