Featured Advocate: Carrie from You are not alone – Suicide Survivor 4/24

feature page 2

 

Carrie: I am an advocate for Mental health research and Suicide prevention. My extraordinary brother battled paranoid schizophrenia for many years. Watching what he went through was a nightmare. He was arrested for things he said on the internet. They wanted him sent away for 20 years for making what they considered terroristic threats. When a forensic psychologist diagnosed him as a paranoid schizophrenic he was released and sent home with sleeping pills. He had a major psychotic break about a year later and after fighting with mental health and getting no where a neighbor finally informed us that the only way to get him help was to have him arrested. Something mental health should have told us but neglected too. We reluctantly had him arrested and he was then put on a cocktail of drugs that rendered him catatonic, all he could do was pace the floor. On March 16, 2013 suicide took his life. I found him in my mothers garage, he had hanged himself. I was forever devastated and changed by this event. I will never forget nor be quiet about what was done to him. He was never given proper treatment and he was made into the town joke. Mitch was intelligent, funny, caring and artistic. The art he left behind tells a graphic and disturbing tale. I started this with the intent of shining a light on a very dark subject. Suicide claims 1000’s of lives every year. Mental illness is a horrible disease that affects millions of people. There does not seem to be a suitable treatment for it and the treatment that is used now is more like torture. I have already had a very successful art show featuring my brothers art and all money raised went to Mental health treatment and suicide prevention. The book I am creating will feature my brothers art and a bio of his life. I know it is hard for some to share what they have gone through, but I feel it is not only important but necessary to speak up about this. If you are willing to share a loved ones talent or story please let me know I would love to include them in my book.

suiMy extraordinary brother battled paranoid schizophrenia for many
years. On March 16th he chose to end his life. Mitch was intelligent, funny, caring and artistic. The art he left behind tells a graphic
and disturbing tale. I started this with the intent of shining a light
on a very dark subject. Suicide claims 1000’s of lives every
year. Mental illness is a horrible disease that affects millions
of people. There does not seem to be a suitable treatment for
it and the treatment that is used now is more like torture. All money
raised from this event will be donated to suicide prevention and
mental health research. Please joins us for a night of art, education
and giving . We will have food, music and raffles. Dress up and enjoy
the evening.
suic

 

Leave a Reply

