Featured Advocate: Joyce from Make BPD Stigma Free 5/2

featured page

Joyce: I am an advocate for mental health because I wasn’t diagnosed until I was 35 years old. I needed the right help years earlier. I’m trying to raise awareness and erase the stigma of Borderline Personality Disorder, and get people the help they need much sooner. BPD has been called a “wastebasket diagnosis” and “untreatable.” It is actually highly treatable with Dialectical Behaviour Therapy or DBT. It helped me and it can help many others.

Let’s all “Make BPD Stigma-Free!”

 

Make BPD Stigma Free

bpdHelping those with Borderline Personality Disorder fight the stigma and enjoy their lives for who they are – highly empathetic, compassionate and creative people. Check out my blog at: http://makebpdstigmafree.wordpress.com/and click on Editorials.
Helping those with Borderline Personality Disorder fight the stigma and enjoy their lives for who they are – highly empathetic, compassionate and creative people. Check out my blog at: http://makebpdstigmafree.wordpress.com./My name is Joyce. I am 45 years old, married with two kids. I enjoy writing, photography, crocheting and baking.

I suffer from/have suffered from: Borderline Personality Disorder, Depression, Post-Partum Depression, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, Social Anxiety Disorder, Agoraphobia, Dermatillomania and Insomnia. I take Cymbalta and Abilify to manage my symptoms. I have been in therapy for about 15 years. I took a DBT (Dialectical Behaviour Therapy) program several years ago to learn how to manage my emotions better. I did a lot better until recently when a lot of stuff happened which is extremely difficult to deal with. I am revisiting my binders from that program and trying to implement those skills as needed.
I feel so alone a lot of the time, like no one can possibly understand what I’m going through. It’s so hard for people without BPD to understand what it’s like. I believe they can, but usually only to a point.I am in the process of writing a book about Borderline Personality Disorder. I’m not sure what it’s going to be like. I’ll find out as I write it and it comes to me. I’ll find out right along with you as you read it.Follow my blog on my path to recovery. I hope you will learn more about BPD along with me.

Pinterest           Twitter               Tumblr              Google+              Weekly Newspaper                     YouTube

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

