Featured Advocate: Lindsay from Supporting Parents & Guardians of Adolescents Suffering from Mental Illness 5/9

feature page 2

Lindsay:Hi, I am the mum of a daughter who at the age of 14 attempted suicide. At the time I had no-one to turn to apart from my husband. I was edited from a site for using the word suicide. Yes, I know this can be a trigger, however, the site was for parents of children with mental illness.
As a result of this I started a support page for parents and caregivers of adolescents and children suffering from a mental illness (SPGASMI). The page was started so other parents would not feel alone. I am an advocate for mental health, as parents and caregivers we need support to be able to look after our children and deal with all the problems that are thrown at us.

Supporting Parents & Guardians of Adolescents Suffering from Mental Illness

buThis group has been started for parents and care givers of adolescents and children suffering from any mental illness. It is a means to provide support and advice♥

A place where parents and caregivers can share, help and most importantly find help and solace in knowing they are not alone.

I am the mother of a 14 year old beautiful child who I love dearly. Recently she was admitted to hospital after attempting suicide.I found little help across the internet when seeking a place I could speak about my experiences, my fears, my anguish and my confusion in knowing how to cope and at the same time, to be strong for my daughter and family.I hope this site will provide for those caring for adolescents and children suffering from any mental illness some comfort, support and any advice I and others may have to give to you. If anything, please find solace in knowing that you are not alone.Please note I am not qualified with any medical degree and any actions taken or decisions made in regards to looking after mental health should first be consulted with professional medical opinion such as your general practitioner, or counselor, etc.

 

Leave a Reply

