Featured Advocate: Chastity from “Where’s your pants? and other things parents of children with autism say” 5/17

featured page

nopantsChastity: I am the mother of three children, two of whom are on the autism spectrum. Their delays are severe and they would be considered on the more low functioning end of the spectrum by definition.

My son is 12 and my daughter 8. She is nonverbal and uses a Dynavox to communicate. So I wear the autism mom hat and I am also an early childhood special education teacher for children ages birth to three. I often work with families who are just receiving a diagnosis and are in the initial phase of navigating this windy path of parenting a child on the autism spectrum. I think as a special educator and parent I bring a lot to the table at my job and I try to be an advocate and encourage my coworkers to be empathetic during this time for all families.

I was a stay at home mom for almost five years when my kids were young and during this time I spoke at our local autism conference and ARC conference. I helped write a grant to get project lifesaver started in our county and have been a resource for new families in our district who could use some help. I believe that there are a spectrum of therapies and treatments to help out children and stay neutral on controversial issues as the spectrum is wide and requires every individual to find what works best for them. My page and blog are an outlet and resource to help promote hope and a sense of humor to this already challenging life.

Where’s your pants? and other things parents of children with autism say

This page is about our family adventures and navigating life with 3 children (2 with autism) and doing it with a sense of humor!
I am a mother, wife, teacher and staunch autism advocate. We have been navigating the autism path for about 8 years now with two children on the spectrum and another child smack dab in the middle who does not have special needs. We have tried almost every therapy available and blazed a few trails of our own.
nopants2
Leave a Reply

