Featured Advocate: Christina from Awesome Autism/Special needs parents 5/26

featured page

autpar2Christina: I am an advocate because our lil man, Christopher is autistic.. high functioning and is bipolar.  I am too. We have very little support . My husband is amazing and my best friend who is like a sister to me are our #1 supports. Chris was diagnosed with autism at 2. and bipolar around 8. I saw the symptoms. I was 15 , 16 when diagnosed. The horror of it is in December. He was just off. Not himself. Very quiet. Wanted to go to sleep. Did not even want to read a bed time story with me. So I tucked him in.. Came back out to the living room. It was quiet…All of a sudden I heard this dreadful noise! I bolted. Oh my dear god..I found him hanging. The sound I heard was choking. I froze. But got him down etc. Thank God I was as close as I was. I stay away from the “what if’s”. He was admitted to child psych . He was miserable. “Why can’t I be like everyone else” They did a med change and he has been doing awesome. We both see our own Doctors  and I keep the stress level as low as possible. I try to, but I have severe PTSD from that night. But it is much better. People are so hateful. critical . It is so sad there is not enough advocacy! We do what we can. 

Awesome Autism/Special needs parents

As parents to our autistic angel boy (11), I know we all need a place to vent, laugh, cry, share etc. To share this journey together. Welcome one & all!

autpar

Leave a Reply

