Featured Advocate: Anne Marie Britt from Hitting Home & Beyond 5/25

featured page


domAnne Marie Britt: I am an advocate: Plain and simple; it’s my calling what I was put here on this earth to do.
(This might be a Trigger.)
I was married for almost 17 years and endured much physical, emotional, and sexual abuse during those years. My wake-up call that made me say finally “enough” was the night he placed a 357 revolver loaded with hollow point bullets to my temple and pulled the trigger. The gun misfired and only clicked. That was not enough for him though; as after I got settled into my own house with our children he broke in as I slept and assaulted me one last time. Four years later I met a man and decided to take a chance on another relationship. BIG MISTAKE. As this one was VERY verbally and emotionally abusive to me. Fortunately, we did not live together; as I am sure he would have eventually hit me. I do not agree with ANY abuse but honestly I used to think why doesn’t he just go ahead and hit me, the physical goes away and heals rather quickly. However, the emotional lasts a LIFE TIME.
I spent almost 10 years of my life running from this in denial and shame. I mean what would people think of me if they only knew. During that time everything went wrong for me. I moved from job to job; as each one before always ended in a negative manner for me. Then one day I saw in our local newspaper an article for domestic violence & sexual assault advocacy training, and I said “hey why not”. After the training I went to work for our local domestic violence & sexual assault crisis organization. Since that day everything just feels SO RIGHT. I became the agency’s peer counselor, and time after time I have received confirmation that this is what I am supposed to be doing. These people need me, I can relate and truly UNDERSTAND.
I understand EVERYTHING now. I was supposed to go thru EVERYTHING I did so that I could be the best advocate possible. The gun misfired; I was not meant to die then because I had MUCH to do. Three women are murdered every day in the U.S. alone by a current or former partner, and that is three too many. I have since spread out into my own non-profit Hitting Home & Beyond, I advocate to spread the word. To help victims, survivors, family members who do not understand why their loved one is or did go thru this. I advocate to make a difference. 
Why am I an advocate? It’s simple: IT’S MY CALLING
Hitting Home & Beyond
Being a survivor does not make one weak. Instead STRONGER…
If you or someone you know is in immediate danger, please call your local authorities! National Domestic Violence Hotline at 1−800−799−SAFE(7233).

Advocating for domestic violence, sexual assault, & substance abuse. Knowing there is NO shame in a scar; it only serves the purpose of letting us KNOW we ARE STRONGER than whatever it was that tried to kill us…

dom2

Leave a Reply

