Featured Advocate: Robin from ‎Suicide Survivors Support Community 6/11

featured page

sssRobin:  I am an advocate of mental health because I believe our culture needs to become more aware of depression and any type of mental illness. My husband was admitted into the psych ward only 1 week before he completed suicide. The hospital nor the doctors did not make any of us aware of the severity of his depression. We were all in shock when he died. Since that time my life is about recovery and helping others. If someone can find encouragement and hope from my page, it is worth it. I have made the choice to move forward and look at each day as a gift from God. We can all learn from one another and help each other.

Suicide Survivors Support Community

My site is about recovery and moving forward. It is to encourage you after someone you loved died by suicide. I lost my former husband to suicide in 2005. He died a tragic horrible death and I was the one to find him dead in our basement from gunshots to his head. All of our stories are tragic. I didn’t think I wanted to go on with my life without my husband. Nor did I think I had the strength to do so. But an inner voice pushed me to keep going and begin my journey of recovery. I worked very hard for years to get to a healthy place. I know it is possible for all of us! I recently created a website. and this page to help others suffering from loss. I hope that this can be a place where people can share their thoughts and experiences and be comforted from one another. We all need each other. I am a firm believer in support groups! Without them, without God,and without people praying for me I would not be where I am today. I am very grateful! I know it is possible to find happiness again. But it takes work and a commitment to stay on the path of recovery. My prayer is that you will find the path and stay on it.
Recover from Loss: A Site to help you Recover from Suicide Loss. National Number for suicide prevention 1-800-273-8255
sss2
Leave a Reply

