Featured Advocate: Tanya from Tanya J. Peterson 7/13

featured page

tanjaTanya:  I seek to increase understanding of mental illness and compassion for those who live with it. I’ve written two critically-acclaimed novels whose characters live with mental illness, I write an anxiety column for Healthy Place, I keep my own modest blog, and in addition to my Facebook page I also have a Twitter account.  They are all dedicated to awareness and compassion.

This is a place to exchange thoughts & inspiration about mental illness/health. My novels are about mental illness, so I throw in book stuff too.
I have a Bachelor of Science in secondary education, a Master of Science in counseling, and am a Nationally Certified Counselor. I have been a teacher and counselor in various settings, including a traditional high school and an alternative high school for homeless and runaway adolescents. I’ve volunteered my services in both schools and communities. I draw on my own personal life experience as well as my education to write stories about the emotional aspect of the human condition. I’ve published Leave of Absence, a novel about loss, grief, depression, schizophrenia, and the healing power of human connection; Losing Elizabeth, a YA novel about an abusive relationship; Challenge!, a short story about a person who finds the confidence to overcome criticism and achieve a goal, and a book review of Linley and Joseph’s Positive Therapy: A Meta-Theory for Positive Psychological Practice that appeared in Counseling Today, the national publication of the American Counseling Association.

Because I write novels about mental illness and the human emotional condition in general, this is a place to connect, share, and discuss all things related: mental health issues, struggles and triumphs, advocacy, books (both fiction and non-fiction), characters, being a reader, and being a writer.

tanja2

2 comments

  1. I am proud of my friend and fellow author of the anxiety blog! She has helped me so much in my blogging, writing, and connecting with others!

    She is AWESOME!!!!!

Leave a Reply

