Featured Advocate: Anonymous from Ramblings of an Aspie mind 7/16

featured page

aspie Anonymous: I’m an advocate because I’m an Aspie and I want others to know what goes on in our minds. How confusing and frustrating the world can get. 

Ramblings of an Aspie mind

I have Asperger’s syndrome. On this page, I’ll try to let you know what goes through my mind. I’m a Christian, so I won’t cuss. I WILL bring God in this.
I’m a 22 year old female with Asperger’s Syndrome. Asperger’s Syndrome is a high functioning form of Autism. Us Aspies DO talk, but we still have troubles interacting with other people. We need specific commands. For example, you can’t say, “Sit down” and expect me to know where you want me to sit since you didn’t specifically say so. So naturally I would sit righy where I’m at, even if it IS the floor. Since I’m not a mind reader and there’s other stuff going through my head a million miles a minute, I don’t have the patience to determine exactly where you want me to sit. Instead say, “Sit down in this chair right here (while you pull out chair you want me to sit in) for ten minutes, then you can go play.” Those instructions are more specific and I can understand them better.
Here’s a fact: it’s rare for a female to be diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome since females are better then males at mimicking “normal”.
aspie2
Leave a Reply

