Featured Advocate: Sharon from Hope and Healing-San Diego Mental Health Resources 7/24

featured page

sharonSharon: I’m a mental health advocate because 20 years ago, when a psychiatrist advised me to go to an intensive out-patient program due to my bipolar disorder, my response was “I’m not crazy.” My life became out-of-control…..Finally, after more than 10 years, I became desperate, and found the right treatment. I am finally stable. Maybe if I had taken his advice, I would have gotten the help I needed sooner. But there was that self-stigma. I was ashamed. I want to help to decrease the stigma to save others from the pain that I went through. Thank you for what you’re doing!!

I want to help others, so I’ve written “Hope and Healing-San Diego Mental Health Resources.

Hope and Healing-San Diego Mental Health Resources
I’ve had bipolar disorder for over 20 years. My goal is to provide mental health resources and support. Please “like” & visit
1. To encourage people to seek help for mental health challenges. There are many wonderful resources available, like those found on this page.2. To show that recovery is possible. For me, recovery is living a productive life. I want to give people hope.
I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder 25 years ago. This book describes my struggles and shares resources that have helped me get better. I hope it will save you time and energy, leading you to a better, healthier life.My life was pretty messed up until about 8 years ago. I want to show that there is hope for people with mental illness, and we can heal!!A note from a reader: 🙂 “It is an excellent (Mental Health) resource directory for San Diego. Basically, it’s everything I spent years learning on my own in a non-preachy, nonjudgmental book, and without any fluff filler to wade through.” -Danielle Muirsharon2

3 comments

    1. I was not done typing and this is still Lisa. Both my sons are therapists.I think a good story or interview might about the family from the Therapist who is the son?? how did they handled having a mother that ended up in the hospital try to hurt herself to returning back to work.

Leave a Reply

