Featured Advocate: Carissa from Mental health on a serious note 8/3

featured page

delete7Carissa: I am an advocate because  I was diagnosed with mixed symptom bipolar with anxiety disorder about a year and a half ago. I have suffered with issues most my life and have been in denial as well as scared to reach out for help because of the stigma that is placed on it.

Even when I went through the lpn program in 2008 and then began working as a nurse and was exposed to similar situations and educated on the issue I was still scared to reach out. It was my wonderful husband who told me one day that I really needed to do something.

After only a short marriage of a couple years I was terrified of losing him. I realized I was doing him and my children more harm then good and they deserved a better me. So I reached out and started the road to becoming healthy. Since then I have to admit I feel much better and I see the difference it makes for my family. I have started to overcome my fear of admitting my struggles and want to help others do the same. I hate how society places a stigmata on mental health and how it effects those suffering. I hope to make a difference the best way I know how. And helping others with situations like mine and families struggling like mine did is the best way I know to start.

Mental health on a serious note
This page is created for those struggling with anxiety, depression, bipolar, PTSD and other mental health issues.

Too many suffer with mental health and are misunderstood and feel lost. This is meant to bring those with similar situations together. Please spread the page to friends and family that may enjoy a fresh outlook. The more we share the more supportive this page will be. Have a question or need advice? Want to know opinions and responses of the public but want to remain anonymous…send it in a message and as soon as possible the topic will be posted for you! Then you can see all the comments to follow with no one knowing it was you. This page is meant to help answers questions you may have and need advise from others with similar experiences.

delete8
Leave a Reply

