Featured Advocate: Bec from 1, 2, 3 with ASD 8/15

featured page

delete45Bec: I am an advocate so I can  help other individuals and families who deal with Autism Spectrum Disorder and related conditions every day. I feel I am able to give a unique perspective on many issues because, while I am the parent of a 9 yr old son with severe autism and a 7 yr old daughter with Asperger’s Syndrome, I also have ASD myself.

I am a single parent and along with my Asperger’s I also have OCD, which I developed around age 10 & which still plagues me every day, clinical depression and (often) crippling anxiety. I am also quite a severe self-harmer and have been for as long as I can remember.

I often share my children’s triumphs and tears on our page but I also try and explain to people what it feels like for me, as an adult with ASD, to experience a meltdown, shutdown or sensory overload (among other things), in the hope it may assist families to better understand how it might feel for their child/sibling/family member who may not be able to explain for themselves how they are affected by these sorts of things. I also love it when people comment about their own or their child’s journey with ASD as it interests me greatly and makes me feel less alone.

Autism is my life’s work – I live it, live WITH it, study it at uni and work with children with ASD every day. I love it! I love to share our experiences to help others, raise awareness and help myself too! –

1, 2, 3 with ASD

I am an adult with Asperger Syndrome. I have a daughter with Asperger’s & a son with Autism. I invite you to journey through life’s up’s & down’s with us!

delete46

Leave a Reply

