Featured Advocate: Anonymous from The Faces of PTSD 10/26

featured page

del84Anonymous: I am an advocate because I was diagnosed with PTSD and I realize many who have this diagnosis are dealing with some of the same issues I am, such as acceptance, isolation from family and friends, depression, etc., I thought starting a page would be a good way to connect and provide an outlet for others. PTSD is just coming into the spotlight as affecting others who have been through different types of trauma other than being in combat, which is what most of society thinks of when they hear the term “PTSD”. It is also giving me a way to heal…just another part of my journey.

The Faces of PTSD

PTSD affects people without discrimination. It’s not just about being military…it’s about the battles we all face daily just to survive.
This is a public page…not a private group. Anyone can see posts and comments made on this page. If you would like to speak privately, or would like information on groups to join, please use the message button at the top of this page. I will reply as soon as possible.
This page is to raise awareness of PTSD. As a trauma survivor, I feel that more people should know about the effects of this disorder in order to give hope and help to others. Anyone can suffer from PTSD…anyone…men, women, children, elderly. It can be caused by abuse, natural disasters, witnessing car accidents, witnessing deaths/suicides, losing a loved one in a traumatic event. Survivors with PTSD may also experience survivor’s guilt, anxiety, insomnia, emotional instability, etc. We as survivors need support and understanding, not stigmas.
I would like to have the stigma of “mental illness” erased by providing all the information I can to help those in need.
del85
5 comments

  1. I too have ptsd and anxiety, social/general, complex trauma from prolonged ptsd. I need confidential help. I have been misdiagnosed with schizoeffectoid because I was discriminated against and locked in a room for so long lactating with male andfemale nurses discrimaniting agauinst me and treating me worse than a dog, made me feel raped and patients called me awful names. My privacy was breached. It is essential the prince charles, royal brisbane or any public Gov Mental Health failing corrupt dangerous for staff and patients. I need to see my private Psychiatrist at Belmont and the only person I feel safe about I’ve met through that hospital is Dr Spelter from Petrie Private as he knows extended family/friends. I told them I wasn’t speaking without a lawyer present after being in seclusion (they said I resisted and put me on an ITO when I entered the hospital. I never ran, I went willingly, I have paperwork that should’ve stopped that happening. They violated my religious views, they lied about medication, they snuck scissors and razor blades to suicidal patients and played mind games with people while laughing at them, us all behind the counter and gossiping. Staff and Patints reg rape people in there and I personally know a very young woman who was violated by nurses and had to escape the catchment as whilst a minor under ito nurses I witnessed the first time there bribed this preg young girl into silence and an amazing mother in law of mine was locked up and raped by staff and patients…. Need anonymous help

  2. Thanks so much. My goal is to let others know that even though they feel like they are in a dark place, they are not there alone. ❤

Leave a Reply

