Featured Advocate: Marie from Tasteful Truths 2/19

featured page

deltastMarie: I am an advocate because I know what it is like to feel like you do not have a voice. I know how hard it is to have words formed at the tip of your tongue but, never allowing them to fall out any further because of fear and shame. Fear of being judged and shame of being “ill”. I am an advocate for those who have not yet found their voice. I am an advocate for those who are still finding words to form their story. I am an advocate because having a mental illness is not something to be ashamed of. The world needs to hear everybody’s voice and story and I am hear for that.

Tasteful Truths The truth of having a mental illness from my point of view and others; worded as tastefully as possible.

Ever since I can remember I have battled an eating disorder; a disease that has the highest mortality rate of an other mental illness. Accompanying the eating disorder was always the bouts of depression, anxiety, and occasional OCD. I hid my eating disorder the best I could because there was so much shame in having it. It wasn’t until I was able to separate myself from my eating disorder (with the help of a wonderful treatment team and the book Life Without ED) that I understood an eating disorder was an illness; a serious life threatening illness.

I am now in my late twenties and I hear people bash not only eating disorders but other mental illnesses as well. This is simply a page with my thoughts and occasional quotes and inspiring photos to encourage people who are fighting a mental illness to keep going.  Website

deltast2

Leave a Reply

