Featured Advocate: Kara from LIFE Beyond Bulimia 3/12

featured page

dellife2Kara: I am an advocate because there are so many people who are quietly suffering. Mental illness, and those who are affected, do not always look the way you may imagine a mental illness to look. Often, people with a mental illness are living a stable life on the outside, masking the mental self-torture going on inside of them. So many face their issues alone because they do not know where to turn or get support. Having suffered from Bulimia, myself, for nearly 20 years, I know all too well the fear of being “found out.” To most people who knew me, it seemed like I had it all together. They had no idea of the turmoil going on inside me. This put even more pressure on me to uphold that outward image. It was a constant battle going on inside me until I found the resources that helped me to recover. My wish is that, Life Beyond Bulimia, offers hope, support, guidance, inspiration and a sense of connectedness, knowing that if you are suffering from an eating disorder, and the mental anguish that comes along with it….you are not alone.

LIFE Beyond Bulimia: Offering support, knowledge and inspiration along your path to recovery from Bulimia.

Recovery is not about what you weigh, what you eat and how often you exercise. Don’t get me wrong…they are important components to your health! But there are more pieces to the recovery puzzle than these factors alone. We tend to overlook that the quality of our relationships, the state of our finances, our mental health, career, spirituality – are all equally important contributors to our overall well-being and GETTING well. 

My hope is that BEYOND BULIMIA will inspire and encourage you, in all these areas, to be the healthiest you in every way along your path to recoverED! :Certified Integrative Nutrition Holistic Health Coach

dellife

Leave a Reply

